Day 27: Chemistry & Shadowing!!

Today was great! We started the day off as every other day, learning about chemistry and seeing demonstrations-except today we got to learn about Organic Chemistry! Since I already have the background in Organic Chemistry, it was mainly a review. A few of the demonstrations Dr. Sullivan did are shown below:

   

After going to lunch, we had a lecturer talk about climate change and how it affects now only our present, but will make a huge impact on our future! It was a very insightful lecture! Here is a picture of a slide I found to be very interesting:

After we were done learning about climate change, we split into small groups. A lot of us got to leave early to get food and get ready to go shadow in Lincoln. So, we quickly walked over to Subway and got into the vans to go to Sharing Clinic for observing.

The experience at Sharing Clinic was absolutely unreal. I can not believe how much this clinic impacts the lives of many people who are unable to afford healthcare. When first getting there we talked to Dr. Brown who basically told us not to intervene with the patients. We were also told that we had to attach ourselves to a D2 student. At first I was a little hesitant, but once I found a dental student, we started talking and it went really well. I got to observe an extraction on the first patient. When it was time to observe another patient, a different dental student actually asked me if I would assist him! At first I was a little nervous, but it got better. I helped him pack amalgam, suction, and handed him anything he needed. Since the patient spoke only Spanish I also was asked to translate! I can not believe how fortunate I am to have all the experience!

After Sharing Clinic, we drove back and I worked out and headed to bed.

Leave a comment